Spilt Coffee | Get Messy Art Journal | Week 6

You know that saying “No use crying over spilt milk?” Well, coffee got spilt on our art journal and we’ve decided it was the perfect base for our Get Messy art journal pages this week. What better way to get messy than with a coffee spilt mess?

Pages for Week Six
_________________________________
20140814-150920.jpg

Yesterday morning I thought my son and I would start our morning art session outside together but it didn’t go too well. My son had our art journal and crayons. I was about to start putting paint on canvas when he suddenly jumped out of the chair.
Turned out he wanted to help me paint instead of color in the book. My coffee got knocked over onto the notebook and all the paints & crayons fell to the ground with them.
When the coffee spilt my first instinct was to check my son over worrying he could have gotten burnt by my coffee. Then I realized none got on him and the coffee had gone cold anyway. Next instinct was to lecture and freak out about what could have happened…but I didn’t.
My son is three years old and sometimes throws huge tantrums when he is tired or not feeling well. After trying many different things with him I figured out having him take deep breaths was the quickest way to calm him down. Children learn how to act and react by watching us. If I got upset about the coffee being spilled, that would be the equivalent of me telling him it’s fine to fuss and throw a fit.
So, I took a deep breath, and told him its okay. We just need to be more careful next time. We’ll let the book dry. Let’s go for a walk.
We ended up seeing some really neat bird activity. I’ve never seen so many black birds flitting back and forth through the trees like that before. Not in the grove at least. We had a lot of fun walking that trail and watching the birds. The time flew by and when we got back to the journal it was all dried out and we continued creating until lunch time.

When was the last time you had to step back and take a deep breath?

About the Challenge
_________________________________

Get Messy is an art journal challenge where a gang of crafty vixens are sharing art journal pages we have created to practice our skills and push past our creative limits with hopes to inspire. We share our pages without restraint every week, and once a month we create around a prompt. Go check out these crazy talented ladies creating pages who each have a unique perspective and style. We will be sharing our work around social media so follow the hashtag #getmessyartjournal.

4 thoughts on “Spilt Coffee | Get Messy Art Journal | Week 6

Leave a Reply

