Hiking a Mountain Range | Get Messy | Week 12

We missed posting last week because we were ill. My little prince and I are still under the weather. So this week, for the Get Messy Art Journal Challenge I thought I’d share my interpretation of last month’s prompt. Next week we will share some fun pages we made together.

Pages for Week Twelve
_________________________________
20141002-204312.jpg

Journaling Challenge:
Live your adventurous dreams on paper. What would you love to do, or at least try, if you had the courage to live more adventurously?

My Adventurous Dream…

If I could do anything adventurous without the consequences of times, health, or ability, I’d be living a dream of hiking an entire mountain range in the fall. I love trees, nature, mountain air, and seeing it all up close. Watching the mountain range change with distance… I know I’d fall in love with nature all over again.

Art Challenge:
Try a method or material you’ve never worked with before. Be adventurous!

I tried four new things: hand stitching, brads, doilies, and wood embellishments. They were a lot of fun to experiment with. I’m looking forward to trying these more when we get a more durable journal to do art in next year.

20141002-204625.jpg
I’m not sure what to call these leaf embellishments, but I love them.

20141002-204716.jpg
Stitching on this paper wasn’t easy. The paper likes to tear if you poke it wrong or pull too tight.

20141002-204807.jpg
The wood embellishments are a little thick for journaling. I think I’ll get something thinner next time. As for the doilies and brads, I’ve always loved them but never really thought of their creative possibilities. I’ll definitely be experimenting with all of these in the future.

What is your adventurous dream? Share your future expedition in the comments 😉

About the Challenge
_________________________________

Get Messy is an art journal challenge where a gang of crafty vixens are sharing art journal pages we have created to practice our skills and push past our creative limits with hopes to inspire. We share our pages without restraint every week, and once a month we create around a prompt. Go check out these crazy talented ladies creating pages who each have a unique perspective and style. We will be sharing our work around social media so follow the hashtag #getmessyartjournal.

6 thoughts on “Hiking a Mountain Range | Get Messy | Week 12

  1. Cody Doll says:

    What a wonderful dream. I think it would be very cool to hike the mountains. Which ones though? The Rockies or Appalachian? I think what you used on your page is great.

  2. faithacre says:

    Love stitching on paper. You can glue a border on and stitch on it…gives the paper more weight. I think these pages are a great combo of materials, color and techniques!

Leave a Reply

