The Fall Back Incident

Everything changed after the incident…

Sounds menacing doesn’t it? Alas, it is no longer Halloween. And this is more of a mommy-is-exhausted-but-this-is-kind-of-adorable-in-my-exhausted-state moment.


Usually Fall Back, a.k.a. end of daylight saving time, is one of my favorite times of the year. Because I use the time change for two purposes. The first, it is so much easier to wake up at 5 o’clock in the morning ūüėÄ which makes this half¬†of the¬†daylight saving time cycle more productive and relaxing. The second, is the lying clock beside my bed. Normal people turn the clocks back for Fall Back. I do as well, but NEVER do I set the clock back next to my bed. My incorrect clock is similar to¬†someone making me feel beautiful even when I know I’m a mess. When I wake up I look at the clock beside my bed and see it says 6 o’clock. This tells me I really need to get up and get my son breakfast and once I’m out of bed I realize, I actually have a whole hour to create, write, read, or just drink coffee and watch Nature wake up through our wall of windows. It’s a strange tradition, I know. But I really do love this part of the year.


So how did this year’s Fall Back hour fall apart? My son woke up at 3am and told me he needed to change. If you’re a parent you know night-time accidents happen every now and then. Tonight was probably due to drinking water too close to bedtime with the¬†Halloween excitement. I don’t remember the last time I had to clean up his bed but it’s been a while.¬†I cleaned him up, got him some fresh pajamas, and set him in my bed with his Old Time Rock and Roll music (he falls asleep to that song, wakes up to that song, and sings it throughout the day.) After he was settled I took off his bed sheets and put them in the washer, Oxy-Cleaned¬†the mattress, and made myself a cup of tea. When I came back to my room I expected my son would already be asleep. Instead, I found him sitting-up in bed with a cough. He told me he has a “little bit of a cold.” So I got his current favorite book, Ricky Ricotta’s Mighty Robot, sat down beside him, and read to him until¬†he read the rest of the book to me. Now he is back asleep on my shoulder, still sitting up. It’s the only way he can sleep when he has a cough.

Although my Fall Back tradition was rent asunder¬†by soiled laundry and a cough, I’d say my extra early morning has turned out into a pretty sweet cuddly moment with my son that I will cherish.

“There are bright points of light – so many! – between the dark places. This is what’s important. This is where life is.”
РOnce Upon A Grind (a coffeehouse mystery) by Cleo Coyle


Do you have any little holiday traditions that are different from the norm?


Post Script:¬†I apologize in advance for any confusing sentences or strange grammatical¬†errors I may have planted in this post do to my exhausted mind. I’m not much of an editor especially when I’m tired. As always, thanks for stopping by and I wish you Happy Adventuring. – Ashley

Leave a Reply

