A Year of Focus

It’s January first, the start of a new year. A time we reflect on the previous years’ experiences and lessons. A time we prepare for the future to make the coming year better than the last.


 

Twenty-Fifteen in Review

accomplishments

My biggest accomplishment was also my most unexpected. I became a Featured Brand on Storenvy on July 24th, 2015. Sure, it was on my goal list, but my intended timeline was three years. I really love Storenvy and couldn’t be happier to be a part of their trusted brands. Another accomplishment for my business this year was launching my Pocket FieldCard™ products. It is something I am greatly looking forward to expanding on. (I have a spreadsheet of ideas and everything 😉 ) There are so many wonderful things that happened last year, but these two really stand out to me.

still need to work on

The way I see it, there is always room for improvement. This year though I am going to focus on one thing when it comes to Pinecone Grove and that is product. I really want to see more items in the shop that will give kids and parents a variety of nature lessons to explore. Therefore, I intend to release a new lesson once a month. Fingers crossed I can pull that off. Wish me luck!

what I learned

Multi-tasking is bad. Yes, you read that right, lol. I have a bad habit of multi-tasking. I always have and I do it ALL the time. Back in the day, I used to do my math and english homework at the same time. I used to think it was something to be proud of. That I could work on two, three, or four things at a time. But as I’ve grown older, I’ve realized it can be handy sometimes, but it is not good when I am working on something that deserves my full attention and focus. Sure, I can do WELL on all the projects, tasks, and laundry. But that painting I was working on while jotting down dimensions for a bathroom remodel and put shirts and the pajama drawer isn’t going to be GREAT. By multi-tasking I am taking away the potential of something being EPIC. Therefore, my word for twenty-sixteen is…

Focus

My Word for Twenty-Sixteen

Last year I accomplished a lot of my goals and exceeded them in some areas I never expected to complete so quickly. Last year I did persevere. This year, I want to Focus on my son, my business, and myself. Originally, my word was going to be thrive. It is a great word, and I do want to thrive. However this year, I think I need to concentrate on changing myself – my habits – so that I can thrive. Maybe that will be my word for twenty-seventeen.

My son sees me multi-tasking a lot. Thankfully he doesn’t seem to have that habit… yet. He is very focused on what he is reading, creating, watching, and discovering. I want him to continue to maintain that focus. The best way for me to ensure that, is by focusing with him.

Thanks to my perseverance this past year, my heart is in good condition. Last year I was finally able to hike five miles. This year, I want to make that ten. It’s a steep goal, but if I focus on my health, I know I can do it.

When it is time for me to work, I will work on my projects for the shop. No writing blog posts when I should be painting. No swapping backgrounds in the shop when I should be formatting my next set of FieldCards™. And NO mixing of products for my drafting, design, and writing jobs. They each have their own time and that’s when I should work on them.


What is a Word of the Year?

If you haven’t heard of this one word per year submergence, that’s okay. I’m still learning about it myself. Some people choose a word at the beginning of the year. Only one word. At first I thought it was strange to commit to one word. I mean, if you want to use words to inspire you or improve yourself, why would you limit yourself to one?
As the new year got closer I started to see more and more “word of the year” posts on Instagram and reading blog posts about how it can change your life. Now I’m starting to get why you would choose one word. It is not limiting. In fact, it’s potentially limitless.

Choosing Your Word
The word you choose becomes a guide for your whole year. Therefore, you should choose wisely. Stay away from negative words and negative definitions. Your word should focus on a characteristic you want to improve on.
For example, if you know you have a difficult time trusting yourself or others, “trust” might be a good characteristic to focus on this year. You could work on:
Trust in your ability to make choices and assert yourself to accomplish your goals.
Trust in your family and friends to support you when you need them.
Trust you will get through each day and know everything will turn out all right in time.
Other traits to focus on could be Dare, Inspire, Courage, Believe, Truth, Friendship, Strength, or Heal.

My word of the year for 2015 was Persevere (verb.) – to continue a course of action even in the face of difficulty.

Do you have a word? If not, what would would it be?

Hashtags to check out:
#onelittleword
#wordoftheyear

Leave a Reply

