The Craft Penguin Shop Story

Shop Story StampWelcome to our February Shop Story Feature! Shop Story by Pinecone Grove is a blog publication that connects you, our readers, to small businesses every month. You’ll get the chance to learn more about brands you love and discover others you may not have come across yet. Today, Jennifer Galay, Shop Owner & Crafter at The Craft Penguin, tells this month’s Shop Story.


The Craft Penguin Banner

The Beginning

The official opening date for The Craft Penguin was June 30, 2014. However, I quickly changed platforms and a month later opened on Storenvy. This is the day I celebrate our anniversary. So, on July 31, The Craft Penguin will celebrate its 2 year Envyversary!

Behind the Brand

After my first month being open, I made some hard choices to change platforms and came across Storenvy. On the other platform, my shop name was just my username, which was penguincrazy. Personally, I didn’t like the way that was set up. Anyway, in switching to Storenvy, I decided I needed to have a real name for my shop, so I started brainstorming ideas. I wanted something unique so I kept searching online to see if the names would come up and unfortunately they all did. I began to get discouraged when I suddenly had an idea. Why not keep my penguin obsession in there?! That’s when “Craft Penguin” came to mind! But then it struck me that The Craft Penguin could be used as a double meaning. Not only could it refer to my shop, but to me, as kind of a nickname. I AM The Craft Penguin. So, with that The Craft Penguin was born. I celebrate my shop anniversary on July 31 not just because I switched to Storenvy that day, but because my shop now officially had a name.

Batman String Art

The Craft Penguin Team

It’s just me! But I do have the love and support of family and friends, especially my husband!

Brand Highlights

I LOVE everything about being a shop owner! I love creating the products I sell! I enjoy interacting and sharing on social media, writing blog posts, and hosting a weekly linkup – literally everything about it. But mostly I enjoy making customers happy! Every single sale gets me pumped! And I am even more excited when customers receive their orders and it brings them joy. I am thrilled when customers send me pictures or like a recent customer who posted a video! That video brought me to tears and I couldn’t stop watching it! I get overjoyed to know that the products I create are making people happy and that makes every bit worth it!

baby elephant

Future for The Craft Penguin

As with a lot of things in my life these days, I tend to take things one day or one week at a time. My overall goal is to continue to grow and create even more new and amazing products! I would also like to get my creations into the hands of someone in every state in the U.S. I have currently reached 25 states and 3 other countries and that number continues to grow!

The Craft Penguin Signature

Recently my amigurumi items have been the most popular items, however I don’t consider that to be my signature creation. My signature creation is my string art, particularly custom ones. My dad, who passed away when I was 14, used to create string arts. I have one of his hanging in the hallway in my house. It was that piece that inspired me to start creating string arts myself. Creating the string arts brings me comfort and helps me feel closer to him, so they are especially special to me.

monster high string art

If I Could Turn Back Time…

There are a few things I wish I had known before, such as which items would sell fast and which would be a flop. If I’d have known the amigurumi animals would be so popular, I would have taught myself to make them sooner! And I wish I knew how much fun they’d be to create! But really, I’ve enjoyed the ride even through its ups and downs.

The Craft Penguin Newsletter

I send out quarterly newsletters and email exclusive offers!
Sign Up Here

Connect with The Craft Penguin

Storenvy ShopOur BlogFacebookInstagramTwitterPinterestGoogle+


Thank you Jennifer for sharing your Shop Story with us.

Share Your Shop Story

If you would like to be featured as next month’s Shop Story, Apply Here. Be as creative or straightforward with your answers as you’d like. I’ve left the questions and “prompts” open to interpretation so each Shop Story publication will be unique and generate interest for readers. You do not have to answer all of the questions or prompts. Just the ones you feel best reflect your brand. I look forward to sharing your shop story and getting to know more about your business.

One thought on “The Craft Penguin Shop Story

Leave a Reply

