Design. Print. Go.

Clothing Designs at The Pinecone Grove Expedition Outfitter are made in my closet-office or on the go, so I don’t have room to print or store my own apparel, posters, totes, or mugs. Of course I have no experience in printing on apparel, posters, totes, or mugs either so space is a moot point. Here is how I get my apparel ready for sale in my shop using Storenvy and Printful.


Step One: Design

This step takes the longest. I sketch a lot, paint a lot, and then touch up or start from scratch using my GIMP software. Plus, I usually ditch a lot of designs into a folder titled “just archive it” because I don’t like to throw away work and I might come up with an idea to fix the stuff I don’t LOVE later. After lots of hours spread out over a few weeks (or months in some cases) I am finally ready to share my new designs.

Step Two: Print

To print, I simply upload my design to Printful, choose the item I want it printed on, and order a sample at 20% off the original price.

Printful is a Print-On-Demand (POD) service that offers printing on shirts, totes, mugs, posters, pillows, socks, and canvas. They also have hat embriodery. Now, I don’t have to stuff my closet-office full of product and my customers can get their orders shipped right to them – which cuts down on packaging waste. So if you are looking to start your own t-shirt business or want to add print products to your shop, I definitely recommend Printful.

Step Three: Go

Go to the customers. Now that my design is done and I have a sample print, I’m ready to list my new product at The Pinecone Grove Expedition Outfitter.

It’s been almost three years since I opened my shop on Storenvy and I still love it. It is free, it is completely customizable, and the Storenvy team is AWESOME. “Storenvy is home to emerging brands and inspired goods. It’s a place where you can launch a custom store in minutes, and a place where you’ll discover amazing, one-of-a-kind things you can’t find anywhere else.” – How It Works on Storenvy


Have a shop on Storenvy? Have products printed by Printful? Share your links and thoughts in the comment.

Leave a Reply

